My Kids Have Large Brains

One question we hear a lot since we home school is, “Are your kids learning enough at home?” I’m going to put that question to rest right now, because their brains have grown tremendously just over the last few days! 😉

We have been studying our body systems. I must say that I LOVE anything related to human biology. The way the Lord made us and how every system works together but has different functions, just amazes me! 

13 You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. 14 Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it. –Psalm 139:13-14 

In our curriculum Easy Peasy All-in-one-Homeschool on day 42 we were to make a brain hat. My boys are just like me, very visual learners. They also love to paint and make messes! Although this brain hat is great we decided to do something a little different.

First, we took a piece of aluminum foil and molded it to their heads to make a hat.  (somehow I missed getting a pic of this!) 😦

Next we used a can of Great Stuff Gap Filler and sprayed our “brains” onto the mold.  (Make sure to use some type of paper underneath–I used newspaper. Also, use in a well-ventilated area…fumes are strong!)

brain hats

After the brains dried for a couple of hours, I realized that the under side was still mushy!  I tore off the aluminum foil to find that the “inside” was not dry!  The instructions I was going by did not say anything about this, so I want to make sure and tell you what I learned! Trial and error. 🙂   I flipped our brains over and let the “inside” dry for a few hours. (I recommend using some type of gloves…the foam is very sticky and does not come off easy! Again, I learned the hard way! Kids should NOT do this part!)

Okay, so now our brains are all dry, inside & out. We marked the different sections with a marker and painted according to our brain model labels.  (pdf file–you’re welcome to use!)

pic 2

After the paint was dry we look our brain model labels, cut them out and glued onto the correct part. We had to do a little trimming to get them to fit just right.  My kids enjoyed showing daddy when he got home how much they had learned in one day!

 Now, who says that homeschoolers aren’t smart!?!  🙂

What are some fun crafty things you have made with your kids to reinforce something you’re studying? I would love to hear your ideas!

2 responses to “My Kids Have Large Brains

  1. Wow – what an excellent idea! I am definitely going to try this. We aren’t learning about brains for a while but I will try to think of a way to adapt it for something else. I will let you know how it goes! Thanks for the inspiration

    Like

    • I would love for you to share what you come up with! The spray foam is actually kind of addictive…I’m thinking myself of more ways to use it! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

