Homemade Coffee Creamer

A morning must-have for me is COFFEE!

Do NOT talk to me or expect anything from me until I have had my shower and my coffee! Now, I can drink it black but I prefer to add flavored creamer. Vanilla-Caramel is my favorite!

I had begun to notice though that in the morning about an hour after my LARGE cup of coffee, my stomach didn’t feel so well. Now, I know that coffee is a great diuretic, but this was different. I mean pains that wouldn’t go away…like the beginning of a terrible stomach illness.

Then, I stumbled upon an article about a certain ingredient that is added to creamer and other dairy products:  CARRAGEENAN

 (source of article) The problem: carrageenan could be causing inflammation, gut irritation, and even cancer. “What’s striking to me is that carrageenan has no nutritional value,” says Charlotte Vallaeys, director of farm and food policy at the Cornucopia Institute, an organic watchdog group that promotes family-scale farming. The organization has been critical of carrageenan’s approved use in organics and recently launched a nationwide petition urging the FDA to ban the ingredient from the food supply.
Its use in beverage products could be completely eliminated if companies printed “Shake Well” on their packages, since carrageenan essentially makes sure liquids remain mixed.
Although derived from a natural source, carrageenan appears to be particularly destructive to the digestive system, triggering an immune response similar to that your body has when invaded by pathogens like Salmonella. The result: “Carrageenan predictably causes inflammation, which can lead to ulcerations and bleeding,” explains veteran carrageenan researcher Joanne Tobacman, MD, associate professor of clinical medicine at the University of Illinois School of Medicine at Chicago. She says the food ingredient irritates by activating an immune response that dials up inflammation. Her previous work showed a concerning connection between carrageenan and gastrointestinal cancer in lab animals, and she’s involved with ongoing research funded through the National Institutes of Health that is investigating carrageenan’s effect on ulcerative colitis and other diseases like diabetes.

I found this article (and others that I found following this one) to be very interesting. I believed this could be the culprit to my stomach pains! I stopped using my usual coffee creamer for a few days and monitored how I felt. {Still had coffee, but kept it black.} After about 3 days I noticed that I didn’t have the terrible pains after drinking my coffee. Things seemed to be more normal.  

coffee creamer--pinterestBUT, I LOVE to add creamer! {I like to change things up!} So, I started doing some Pinterest searching for homemade coffee creamers. I took the ideas and came up with my own, to suit my tastes.

{You can take this information and use it how you want, but since I’ve ditched store bought creamer, I have NOT had any of the symptoms or pains that I was having before. }

Ok, so here’s my recipe:

~1 quart Half & Half cream  (check the label to avoid carrageenan)

close-up of ingredients

close-up of ingredients

~small can of sweetened condensed milk

~1 cup. vanilla syrup

~about 4 tablespoons of caramel

*add more/less vanilla syrup & caramel to your taste

~Add all ingredients to your blender and blend together.  {Note:  I have learned after making several batches now, that the blending process “fluffs” up the creamer some, so now I do half of all ingredients then repeat.}

~Use a funnel to pour back into the Half & Half container. (just makes it easier if you have one)

 Winter 2013 004

~After filling the Half & Half container, I still had what you see left that I just poured into a water bottle.

{See how much it “fluffs” it up!} 🙂
Winter 2013 006

While you’re blending all the ingredients together make sure you are brewing a pot of coffee! 🙂

Now you’re ready to enjoy, and I can start my day with NO stomach problems!

 Winter 2013 005

Have you ever made your own creamer or have another great recipe to share? I would love to hear from you!

What are some other ingredients that you try to avoid if possible, like carrageenan?

blog signature

*Linked up: Growing Home,  Raising Arrows, Walking Redeemed

Leave a Reply

