Where I’m completely honest

It seems that everywhere I look life appears to be perfect. People desire to be perfect. We’ve all seen it; from Pinterest to Facebook to Instagram, life is only portrayed with all our i’s dotted and t’s crossed. I know it’s easy to only share with the world what you want them to see, but let’s all be honest–Life is hard and messy! Things don’t go as planned. Getting a picture of all our kids smiling and looking happy doesn’t come without some yelling and fussing. We are not really who others think we are. Period.

My husband is my truly my best friend. He has seen me at my best and absolute worst. My goodness, he’s seen me birth 3 babies…I don’t think there is anything else for him to see! 🙂 I am completely myself when I’m in our home with him. My safe place of vulnerability.

Now granted, everyone doesn’t need to know us on this level. We are supposed to be honest and open with our spouses…we became one. But, let’s be honest first with ourselves and then everyone else. It’s totally okay if we fail at something. If our kids don’t score the winning goal, it’s okay. If we try a Pinterest DIY project and it turns out like a 3 yr. old did it…IT’S OKAY! When we’re struggling with something, it’s alright to say so.

I’m not saying that we need to dump on everyone our problems. We know who we can really talk to. But, let’s quit putting on an act with those around us. If you don’t really like someone, then don’t be their “friend” on Facebook just to be nosy on what’s going on in their life. If you can’t speak to them in public, then don’t follow them on any social media account. If you have a Pinterest fail, share that! It might just make someone smile. 🙂

I need a place to be honest with my feelings and what we’re going through as a family. We can all learn from each other and it helps to know we’re not alone. That’s what I want this blog to be. An open, honest look into our family. We struggle through our daily life; homeschooling, ministry, our finances, etc. Life is definitely NOT a bed of roses, but it’s worth every thorn we encounter.

Living for Jesus gives us purpose and keeps us grounded in knowing that He is the only one who has ever existed who is perfect. We’re just striding along trying to step in His steps.

My first REAL, HONEST picture into our life:   It’s 5:00 pm. I need to start supper, and this is currently the state of my kitchen. Dishes in the sink. Popcorn maker out from LAST night. Pans on the stove from yesterday’s breakfast. Poor quality pic with my phone, because who has the time to find a “real” camera then wait the 15 minutes to upload. Yep, it’s been a Monday! 🙂kitchen mess

So, here’s to being honest! 🙂

Many blessings to your home from ours!

Leave a Reply

